Eight Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga
  • Dec. 21, 2021

Eight Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga For Beginners

Far from western influence, the word yoga has a much deeper significance. It takes you away into the realm of spirituality and mental peace. So, to completely change your life, you should practice eight limbs of Ashtanga yoga. You get to practice this yoga off the mat also.

In short, to have an overall impact, you should inculcate eight limbs of Ashtanga yoga in your life. However, you might be thinking what does that mean. It signifies that you cultivate a yogic lifestyle and work towards changing your entire being. Before that, you should first learn about the eight limbs of Ashtanga yoga. Read on.

Eight Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga

1. Yama

It is the first out of the eight limbs of Ashtanga yoga. It takes vows and disciplines into consideration that relate to the world around you. The aim is to calm you down and remove day-to-day stress from your life.

It has five Yamas that play a vital role in changing your life. They are:

Ahimsa – Non-Violence

Satya – Truthfulness

Asteya – Non-Stealing

Brahmacharya – Using Energy Efficiently

Aparigraha – Non-Greed

2. Niyama

Niyama talks about various duties which you must fulfill for yourself. Niyama comes from the Sanskrit and the prefix ‘ni’ denotes ‘within or inward’.

Saucha – Cleanliness

Santosha – Contentment

Tapas – Discipline

Svadhyaya – Self-Study

Isvarapranidaha – Surrender

3. Asana

It is one of the eight limbs of Ashtanga yoga which works on your physical dimension. It makes you aesthetically strong and flexible. Practicing yoga asanas further helps you have a perfect alignment.

Moreover, physical asanas remove physical stress from your body. Yoga asana not only works on your physical but also its mental dimensions . Hence, it works perfectly on your overall health.

4. Pranayama

The word Pranayama comes from Sanskrit that signifies ‘energy’ or a ‘life source’. Pranayama, also known as different types of breathing, encloses the true essence of being alive. Furthermore, this is one of the crucial eight limbs of Ashtanga yoga that takes your practice to the next level.

You learn breath control so that you know how to optimize your physical as well as mental health. Not just that, practicing Pranayama improves the flow of oxygen in your body. This further helps in optimizing your performance while practicing yoga.

5. Pratyahara

This is one of the best eight limbs of Ashtanga yoga which helps you withdraw your attention inward. Hence, you learn to use all the senses present inside your body. Moreover, you even learn to use the things, elements, and props present in your surrounding while practicing Pratyahara.

Practicing this element improves your focus and attention span. Furthermore, you get the opportunity to consciously switch on and off your senses without any hassle.

6. Dharana

The literal meaning of Dharana is focused attention. Also, you learn to hold your attention for a long time which helps shift your attention. Withdrawing your attention inward also helps you connect with your inner self.

You use different techniques to improve your attention. Over time, you get to practice meditation without any issue and enter the deepest cores of your being.

7. Dhyana

The art of meditative absorption comes under the Dhyana limb. With regular practice, you completely absorb meditation and that helps you stay conscious of your current moment. Moreover, practicing Dhyana helps you stay focused and settled in a moment.

In short, Dhayana is one of the most important eight limbs of Ashtanga yoga. It opens a field of vast opportunities before you so that you choose the right thing in life.

8. Samadhi

The last stage of the eight limbs of Ashtanga yoga is Samadhi or enlightenment. When you reach this point, you become one with the higher being. Hence, it is a perfect stage where everything is balanced.

Samadhi is a stage of self-realization. You become one with yourself. Therefore, it helps you make the right decision in life.

Also Read: Yoga for Cardiac Arrest

Wrap Up

As you can see, the above given eight limbs of Ashtanga yoga go way past the yoga mat. They overlook every dimension of your life. So, it is going to enhance your decision-making skills, help you stay calm and composed, and take you close to the Divine power of the Universe. In turn, you become a perfect being living in close connection with yourself and the world around you.